Halloween party costume

So, since I am still stuck on the bits I can’t get right for the other costume, I decided it was time to step away from it a little bit and do something more fun!!!! So yesterday I started working on my Halloween costume!

I usually don’t have any energy to sew or work in costumes when I get home from work but yesterday I was done at 4pm and just couldn’t waste that time!
🙂
This year, like I said in a previous post, RICC is throwing a Halloween party! It will be epic! Like super duper epic and I am soooo excited for it!
I have to tell you a secret! I have always been crazy about Halloween. I used to plan for my costumes for a whole year (that was when I used to buy them at party city lol) But since I started costuming… It’s just not the same thing anymore. I don’t really care about it as I used to and if I have a party to go, I usually just decide the costume super last minute and it’s always something simple and not expensive. I have a huge phobia of wearing any of my expensive ones around drinks and drunk people. Especially me!
But this year I am excited about the RICC party! I actually decided on this costume while I was at dragon con!

I wanted something fun, easy to make, cheap, and above all EASY TO WEAR! Something that I can dance, and bounce and be drunk while wearing it and not risk ruining it or having sore feet or even malfunctions!
So what did I come up with???????????

A party version of Ariel’s blue skirt!

IMG_0683.JPG

A LOT of people tell me I should do an Ariel costume! And I really mean a LOT! Even people that I don’t know!!! I know it’s because of the hair, and if I’d ever make one it would be this one! (Ok I confess! Last year I heard an interview with Michael rooker – ❤ – and they asked him which one was his favorite Disney princess and he said Ariel! I think he was just throwing the only name he remembered haha but well! THAT is actually what motivated me to at least consider making an Ariel costume! Lol I know! I know! I just love that man!!!)
So the party version I thought of, is actually with a TUTU! The top part would pretty much be the same as the picture, but instead of the long skirt a tutu of the same color! And you know, one day, if I decide to make the accurate version, all I need is the skirt!

Doing it on a budget was also something I kept in mind! I was chatting with my friend ruby and he said how cool would it be if all costumers/cosplayers would make Halloween costumes in a budget of 20 bucks! That would be fun to see! I agree! I'm not sure if he is doing that but I am!

I bought the blue tule on amazon! 100 yards for 11 bucks! Free shipping! I bought blue elastic for 2 bucks also on amazon. I'm drafting the black top from scratch and only using fabric I have at home. I have enough plastic boning so I will use that as well! The shirt… I'm going to use the blue one I got for my DisneyBounding Anna! And also the blue bow I got for my DisneyBounding Belle! ( I will make a post about my Disneybounding plans soon) And my black flats!
So I spent in total 13 dollars for this costume! How cool is that????

IMG_0684.JPG

IMG_0680.JPG

I didn’t think I was going to use all 100 yards… I mean ONE HUNDRED YARDS! Are you kidding me, right?!? But I started cutting 24″ strips (it’s a party tutu people! I wanted short! Lol) and when I tied up the first one on the elastic… I just realized I wanted a super fluffy one!

IMG_0681.JPG

Btw… I could totally SEW a tutu but… I’m short on time. The no sew ones looks as good and are so much faster!
Because I wanted super fluffy I doubled the strips of tule! I used 2 instead of one!

IMG_0682.JPG

You have no idea how awesome it looks!
I wore it last night over my jeans and just hopped around in happiness screaming “I have a tutu” wondering why I waited this long to make myself one! TUTUS are awesome!
I have no clue what came to me to have this idea. I dont even remember! But I know one thing: IT WAS THE BEST IDEA EVER!!!!!

Oh… And also… This costume is my “deadline” for my red hair! I’ve been thinking of dying it darker again, and I just kept postponing because of this or that convention… And then I decided I should keep it bright red for this costume so I wouldn’t have to worry about a wig! But after that… I’ll say bye bye to this brightness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

