Thank you, Mood!!!!

This past weekend some friends and I finally made it to the Garment District in NYC! I say finally because we’ve been planning it for over 2 years! The thing is, we are crazy about project Runway!!! We even dressed up as the judges for our garrison’s Halloween party!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_6402

(that’s Charles as Tim Gunn, me as Heidy Klumm, Adina as Nina Garcia, and Sarah as Zac Posen)

So although we’ve been there before separatelyย (I got my Tiana outter dress fabric at Mood last year), we wanted to go together!
You know how life usually gets in the way of stuff right? Yep! So after more than 2 years we made it!!

mood

(Dan, Courtney, Charles, Adina and me. Unfortunaly our Zac Posen Sarah couldn’t go! We missed her!!!!)

I went with the purpose of finding fabric for Wonder Woman v2.0 and maybe Jasmine!!
I always thought it would be easy to find Jasmine stuff at, for example, Joann’s! But I have been ordering swatches for WW for a whole now and I found NOTHING remotely close to what I want ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
The garment district was my very last chance!

Oh well! all I found for Wonder Woman was the red fabric!

20140212-112847.jpg
I actually found that at the Stretch House. It’s a leather looking vinyl! I think it’s 2 way stretch! I’ll be making a corset like top, which means it won’t need to stretch. But I can make it work!

That was all I found for WW! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ very disappointing actually! All blues were too dark or too light and bright! I mean! How hard it is BLUE?!? Seriously!

But the trip (freezing day) was definitely NOT a complete loss! Besides the super fun had with friends, I found everything for Jasmine! ๐Ÿ˜€
Sure im still missing a few beads! But just the easy ones that I know I can find at michaels! I even remember to buy the invisible zipper!!!! =D

20140212-113436.jpg

I am pretty happy with this shade of blue! ๐Ÿ™‚ it may not be the most accurate, but it’s pretty close!

You know, my first shopping time at Mood was last year! And I ended up buying lots of yards of the most expensive fabric I have ever bought in my life… So Mood always had that feeling of “very expensive store”!
But it surprised me this time!
I basically paid the same price I’ve seen in stores like Joann’s. And their store brand invisible zippers are super cheap! I bought the one I need plus a hand full in colors I always use! ๐Ÿ˜‰
Also their trims… Beside being gorgeous were half the price compared to a place aย few doors down from them!
This time around I spent less than 50 bucks and got everything I needed! ๐Ÿ˜€

I also went to the same place I got the trim for Tiana, and even the same guy helped me again! Thanks to my friend Dan I got the perfect fringe and the most perfect blue jewel (I thought I’d have to make it out of resin to get something to match it so perfectly!)

We ended our day at Ben’s kosher deli! Which was awesome! We were starving after HOURS staring at fabrics! Lol
And they are great! Instead of serving bread and butter on the table when you sit down, they serve fresh pickles and coleslaw!!!

20140212-114522.jpg

Now gotta start drafting all patterns since for these 2 projects I won’t be using any commercial ones! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

